ROUND 20 | PREVIEW | Harlequins vs Exeter Chiefs

By Thomas Branston

Twickenham Stoop (Kick-off 7.45pm)

Referee: Wayne Barnes

Assistant Referees: JP Doyle & Paul Dix.

TMO: Sean Davey.

Harlequins suffered a 40-19 defeat last time out to Saracens in front of a packed out Wembley crowd which ended a two-match winning run.

Quins have only lost once at home this season with their last defeat at the Stoop being a 27-18 defeat to Leicester Tigers.

Exeter Chiefs have won their last five Aviva Premiership games and are unbeaten in 12 matches but came close to defeat last time out at home to Bristol, two Thomas Waldrom tries spared their blushes at Sandy Park.

Rob Baxter’s side have picked up six try bonus point wins in as many games to level Leicester tigers record in 2012.

The Chiefs have a major advantage over Quins, winning their last five matches against the Londoners. Harlequins’ last league win over Exeter was a 30-29 victory at Sandy Park back in May 2014, however Quins did pick up a 29-15 win when the two sides last met in the Anglo-Welsh Cup in November.

Last time out Exeter avoided a second-half comeback against Harlequins winning the game 36-25 at Sandy Park. Chiefs led 29-13 at the break and were in full control but despite the visitors best efforts, Quins couldn’t overturn the deficit and Luke Cowan-Dickie stole the headlines by scoring a hat-trick to help his side pick up their first win of the season.

Defeat for Harlequins could jeopardise their hopes of finishing in the European places whilst a defeat for Exeter could hamper their chances of securing a home playoff semi-final.

Harlequins | 15 Mike Brown, 14 Marland Yarde, 13 Joe Marchants, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Nick Evans, 9 Danny Care (C); 1 Joe Marler, 2 Rob Buchanan, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 4 Charlie Matthews, 5 James Horwill, 6 Chris Robshaw, 7 Luke Wallace, 8 Mat Luamanu

Replacements |16 Joe Gray, 17, Mark Lambert, 18 Will Collier, 19 George Merrick, 20 Dave Ward, 21 Charlie Mulchrone, 22 Tim Swiel, 23 Alofa Alofa

Exeter Chiefs |15 Phil Dollman, 14 Olly Woodburn, 13 Michele Campagnaro, 12 Ollie Devoto, 11 James Short, 10 Henry Slade, 9 Jack Maunder; 1 Carl Rimmer, 2 Jack Yeandle, 3 Greg Holmes, 4 Dave Dennis, 5 Geoff Parling, 6 Dave Ewers, 7 Don Armand, 8 Kai Horstmann

Replacements | 16 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 17 Ben Moon, 18 Tomas Francis, 19 Ollie Atkins, 20 Julian Salvi, 21 Stuart Townsend, 22 Gareth Steenson, 23 Sam Hill


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s